Tip: The Dutch: Emigration to North America Tour in 2020

“The Dutch: Emigration to North America” is a tour for people from North America who want to come to the Netherlands to explore their Dutch roots. It is organized by the Association for the Advancement of Dutch-American Studies (AADAS) together with Witte Travel and will be held from 29 April to 11 May 2020. My friend Mary Risseeuw is one of the organizers, and I highly recommend this tour.

The Dutch: Emigration to North America banner

Summary of the program

The tour will travel through the Netherlands and visit several places where many people emigrated from in the 1800s and other periods.

Date Program
Wednesday 29 April 2020 Departure from O’Hare International Airport in Chicago.
Thursday 30 April 2020 Arrival at Schiphol airport, Amsterdam; Open Air Museum Arnhem; Zwolle
Friday 1 May 2020 Frisian Coastal Communities
Saturday 2 May 2020 Het Hogeland, Groningen
Sunday 3 May 2020 Zwolle (free schedule)
Monday 4 May 2020 Achterhoek, Gelderland
Tuesday 5 May 2020 Liberation Day, Zwolle
Wednesday 6 May 2020 Noord-Brabant
Thursday 7 May 2020 National Archives, The Hague; Antwerp, Belgium
Friday 8 May 2020 Rotterdam
Saturday 9 May 2020 Zeeuws Vlaanderen, Zeeland
Sunday 10 May 2020 Dordrecht (free schedule)
Monday 11 May 2020 Return from Schiphol to O’Hare.
Tuesday 12 May 2020 Optional Extension for Visits to places of family history
Wednesday 13 May 2020 Optional Extension for Visits to places of family history

Details, pricing, and booking

See the websites of Witte Travel and AADAS for more information, pricing, and booking, and the brochure (PDF).

Disclaimer: Please note that I (Yvette Hoitink) am not involved in the organization of this tour and that this tour is not one of my services. I have no financial interest in recommending the tour. I share this announcement because I think it is a great opportunity for some of my readers to explore their Dutch heritage.

About Yvette Hoitink

Yvette Hoitink is a professional genealogist in the Netherlands. She has been doing genealogy for almost 25 years. Her expertise is helping people from across the world find their ancestors in the Netherlands. Read about Yvette's professional genealogy services.

Comments

  1. My family left Rotterdam on De Groote Beer on July 7, 1957, arrived 10 days later in Quebec, Canada, As there was a longshoreman strike there, the ship had to go past the Quebec port on the St Lawrence river where it stopped next to a farm field , long planks were extended from the ship to land and we embarked there . We had our carryon luggage and walked to a train that was waiting for us a short walk from shore. I was 13 years young.

Leave comment

*